The United States, along with six others, has said it supports APEC in protest of the Russian invasion

Article content

Representatives of seven countries, including the Bank of Asia-Pacific trade ministers, walked out of a meeting in protest of Russia’s aggression in Ukraine on Sunday, saying they supported the organization and host country Thailand.

Representatives from the United States, Australia, Canada, Chile, Japan, the Republic of Korea and New Zealand said in a joint statement that they had “deep concerns” over the humanitarian crisis in Ukraine.

“Reaffirming the importance of a rule-based international order that supports an open, dynamic, resilient and peaceful Asia-Pacific region, we strongly urge Russia to immediately cease its use of force and withdraw all its military forces from Ukraine completely and unconditionally.” “The nations have said.

Delegates from Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Australia walked out of the Asia-Pacific Economic Co-operation (APEC) meeting on Saturday and joined the Americans, led by US Trade Representative Katherine Tye.

The walkout came as Russian Economy Minister Maxim Reshetnikov was delivering the opening remarks of a two-day meeting of the Group of 21 economies.

A Thai official said representatives of the five countries that had protested after Reshetnikov’s remarks had returned to the meeting. (Editing by Paul Simao Reporting by Dan Whitcomb)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.